Snacks, Seasonings and other things that start with S’s.

My 3-year-old is obsessed with school. In part, it is both a parenting fail and a parenting win.  In an effort to potty train her before she turned 3, we took her want of riding the school bus and turned it into “only girls who use the potty can ride the school bus.” She potty trained with flying colors just shortly after her 2nd birthday by using a sticker “reward” method and has been asking ever since when she will get to ride the bus. I don’t think she’s even allowed in a preschool program till she’s 4. As a bridge until we can get her in somewhere, she has ABCMouse.com (which I would recommend for parents with this age group) and has been learning about the letter S.

She has been calling me by my first name, Sandra; She wants to help with spices; She wants to pick out her own snacks; Most of all, she wants it to snow every day. I, on the other hand hate the snow. She says all these words and says “See momma, I mean Sandra, they all begin with S.” Lucky for me, she only called me by my first name for a few days.

kenziebakesI let Kenzie help in the kitchen, even though it sometimes (more often than not) ends up being more cleanup work for me and a battle to keep my sanity during the process. She likes to help and I’ll take it while I can because one day she won’t be as willing.

She helps me with my pre-made seasonings. I will never have Italian seasoning or taco seasoning on hand, BUT my spice arsenal has everything that I could need for both, and it tastes a million times better than the prepackaged stuff and it does not have all those preservatives you can’t pronounce that are bad for you.

 

 

 

Homemade Italian Seasoning

*this is enough for one Italian inspired meal*

1 tablespoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon rosemary
1 teaspoon basil.

Homemade Taco Seasoning

*I usually triple the recipe since we have tacos quite often. I sort the extra in an air tight container. Depending on the amount of flavor you would like, use 3-4 tablespoons per pound of around meat*

1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
Pinch of cayenne pepper (I use 1/4 teaspoon, but I like spicy)
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon table salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

As for snacks, we try and keep it healthy. Things like pretzels with hummus, yogurt, fruit, string cheese, trail mix so on and so forth. She has actually been leaning toward the fruit recently, as have my husband and I. If I haven’t mentioned, we drink a lot of coffee. For Christmas last year, we wanted and got a counter top compost tin (which we take out to our garden when full). We realized that it was ALL coffee grounds and decided to buy more fruits and veggies. Turns out that since these items have been available in the house, we actually eat more of them. What a concept, and a no brainer that we should have noticed sooner.

Snow. like I said, I am not a fan of it. But, Kenzie Loves it. So I toss on my snow gear, put Kenzie in hers, get Chewie (our miniature poodle) his snow outerwear and bundle Hunter in his snowsuit and toss him in the infant carrier and I become a momma kangaroo ready to face the snow. It took us just as long to get ready as we spent outside, because Kenzie wanted to make snow angels and frozen her threenager buns off. Of course this was after pulling her around on a sled, and this (although fun in her eyes) was a work out for me. This is actually a good thing, since during the winter months here in Michigan it is hard to find motivation to go work out.

Leave a Reply

